Resolutions and Revision

Oh, hi there!

Remember me?

I’m the one who promised to blog frequently and then fell off the face of the blogosphere for 2 months.

Yeah. ‘Bout that.

I’m sorry. I meant to call, but I lost my phone. And then I was busy. And then I couldn’t be arsed for a bit. And then I forgot.

The thing I hadn’t realised about blogging is you don’t have to do it. And when I don’t have to do something, I can get a bit flaky. Sometimes downright negligent. But consider my conscience officially pricked, my resolution-spirit officially inflamed, and my belated return officially made with my tail between my legs.

I hope you can give me a second chance. I think we could be good together.

So, what are your New Year’s Resolutions? Mine are:

1. Blog more (nuff said).
2. Graduate.
3. Make the most of every post-graduation second to fulfil all the stuff you’ve been putting off for three years.
4. Get something – anything – published. For money. Finally.
5. Don’t get distracted.

That last one is the really tricky one, and the reason I may well not get round to doing any of the previous four. I get so easily distracted. Today it was:

http://averagecats.com/
Yep – the antidote to LOLcats (which I also love) and infinitely more interesting than revising or writing a play for Uni.

That’s the other thing I want to talk about today. What makes a good play? It struck me today, as I churned out 1800 words (interspersed with aforementioned pictures of kittehs), that I was pulling my hair out not about whether my play was any good, but whether my examiner would think so. I think my play is alright. I’ve been influence by Edward Albee, Harold Pinter, Shelagh Stephenson and Tennessee Williams. I love their plays, but more importantly it seems – so do ‘the critics’. If my examiner were to read my play being told it was by Pinter, he might think it’s great. Knowing it’s been composed by a student who’s still hungover from Christmas and who has 3 other deadlines to complete this week, I think he might consider it pretentious and frankly a little bit mental. Ironic that I’m worrying what people will think of me for writing a play about public opinion and the modern Media.

“Context is all” says Margaret Atwood, and I think she might have a point. I just don’t think that’s necessarily always fair on us unknowns. Still, you never know – I might get a first. But it doesn’t matter what mark I get as long as I write something that means something to me, right? And if I don’t get the mark I want, maybe the examiner just didn’t get the play. Maybe it needs to be performed to be appreciated. Maybe I didn’t have enough time.

Maybe I’ll stop coming up with excuses this year. But I doubt it.

Image taken from katerha‘s photostream.

Leave a Reply

