Stuff I ♥: Lost Generation

Good evening, and all that jazz.

It has been an interesting week. I say that every week. Life never ceases to amaze me in that – even though I am essentially doing the same job five or six days, and seeing largely the same group of people, and filling my free time with a fairly unvarying selection of activities – I can never describe my life as boring. If anything, it seems to crank up another notch on the ‘Well I never!’ scale as the weeks go by. I am hopeful this will continue to be the nature of my existence.

I have been talking a lot recently about life as a grownup. I know that by calling myself a ‘grownup’ rather than an adult, I immediately lose all claim to any kind of maturity, much like the kind of ‘adults’ who watch Disney films, giggle at the word ‘Uranus’ or take the X-Factor seriously. But bear with me, this is all a bit new.

Since I finished my degree, real life has run away with me a bit. The job, the social life, the mundane activities like washing the car and walking the dog… all my big plans for the glittering career seem to have fallen down the back of the sofa with all the other fluff. I keep thinking ‘when I get a day off, I’ll sort it’, but my days off are largely swallowed up by all sorts of… stuff.

I know – it has only been a month. I am 22. I am not allowed to panic about my life just yet. I just don’t want to blink and suddenly I’m 42 and I’m still washing the car, and all the ideas I had seem like something I just read somewhere once. I get scared that reality will come and get me, and then I’ll forget to try and make a difference to the world in some way, and instead I’ll start worrying about what colour tinsel to buy for the Christmas tree even though it’s only August. I do not want to be that sort of person – I want to always remember I’m alive.

Enter: Youtube. Always there, always ready to shake up a little two-minute piece of inspiration to make me realise what can be achieved, and give me the energy boost to go for it (whatever ‘it’ is.). I watched this video last week (thanks @isalou for sharing!) and it gave me goosebumps.  And now I have started collating all the little strands of idea I’ve been having for a book I’ve been thinking about writing for some time. I love it when things get exciting again.

Feel free to point me in the direction of any other little snippets of ‘wow’ that might be cool. Or whatever.

One thought on “Stuff I ♥: Lost Generation

  1. Pretty much any MJ montage gives me goosebumps and reminds me that you can literally achieve anything if you love it enough and strive hard. Two of notable mention:

    And if you need a song that can achieve the same effect, look no further than HIStory. Pretty much encapsulates achievement in a six and a half minute song.

    Hope this helps 🙂

Leave a Reply

