It Doesn’t Take Long to Change Everything…

It’s the end of another busy week of answering phones to crazy people, drinking too much of what I sell and watching The One Show. Life can feel stagnant when the weeks spin by like the horses on a merry-go-round: every Sunday night you end up where you started, and every Friday evening you feel like you might just be able to jump off this time.

The good news is that is takes less time than you think to transform the merry-go-round into something new and exciting. Like a rollercoaster. Okay, I’m going to stop with the godawful merry-go-round metaphor now. Basically: big changes can be quick.

Whether it’s accepting that your relationship isn’t going where you’d hoped, falling in love with someone else entirely, deciding there’s no reason not to become a redhead, or realising that if you do your job for much longer you’re going to disembowel someone, it only takes one change of direction to start afresh. That’s when the real fun happens.

It’s not the change that takes time, it’s accepting that you need a change. Once you do that, the ball really does start rolling pretty fast, and you can feel better in two seconds flat and re-evaluate your life in a heartbeat.

Yesterday, my brother woke up as a baker/DJ/student living at home. He went to bed (post-results day, I might add) as a young man who was about to move 100 miles away to start a new life with his friends as a trainee accountant. Okay, so it’s not the the Great Wall of China, it’s Lincoln. It’s still an adventure, and a change that will deeply affect his life. For the better.

Today, I went into work feeling pretty frustrated with what I’ve been doing these past few months. How can I be a writer when life is so mundane? How can I tell my future grandchildren/nieces and nephews etc about my youth when it has such a lack of colour? And so – spurred on by my brother’s bravery – I’ve just started looking at TEFL (Teach English as a Foreign Language)  jobs in Italy.

I don’t know if I will do it, but I know I have to power to change my life in a matter of seconds. Take a deep breath, and decide to make a ‘someday’ idea into a ‘today’ idea. It feels bloody marvellous.

Leave a Reply

