The Countdown Begins

I suppose this is quite an important post, really. Rather than being a selection of silly videos, or waxing lyrical about sweets, retro telephones or buttons, I appear to be announcing something a bit more… momentous. Probably equally as whimsical, though.

If you’ve visited this blog before, you’ll know I write things. Quite a lot, actually. It’s just no one else reads them yet (except the stuff I’ve already posted here – questionable quality I can tell you – and a few colleagues have had a gander at some bits and pieces. Oh, and a rather bitchy writing group I was part of for Uni, but let’s not go there. I may get a complex. Again.)

Well, now I’m writing something I’d quite like other people to read. Lots of other people, ideally. Turning pages and everything.

I’m beginning my first proper novel.

Don’t look so disappointed, regular readers – I know I’ve mentioned I’m doing this before, and therefore this ‘announcement’ may be falling somewhat flat, however the next part of this announcement is it is going to be finished by December 31st. I am submitting it to the Terry Pratchett Prize for debut novelists, and the end of this year is the lovely, scary, thrilling deadline to which I am hurtling. 117 days time, in fact. Crikey.

Before you ask – yes, I have an idea. I even have an opening. I have about 1500 words in total so far… so, I’m about 78,500 short. But the main thing is I have an idea. Gulp.

This blog is now sort of mutating a bit. I will probably still scoff and ramble to pass the time, but from now until the end of the year the content of this blog will predominantly focus on the completion of this novel (or lack thereof, depending if I can tear myself away from The X-Factor etc.)

Writing my first novel is quite a special idea for me, and I want to chronicle the inevitable ups and downs, writer’s blocks, lightning bolts of inspiration, paper-tearing and tea-drinking that will unfold before me over the next three months.

If you are a first time novelist, or even entering the competition as well, please let me know. You can reach me on ljvickers[at]googlemail.com, or via @LaRainbow on Twitter, or you can leave a comment at the bottom of any of my entries here and make me feel all scrumptious.

So….

Day One

Today, I coughed quite a bit. Starting a novel when on day eleven of a stinking cold does make things a little harder, but I remedied this by:

1. Watching Hitchcock’s The Birds for the first time, and laughing entirely too much (but it is marvellous, isn’t it?)
2. Listening to The Essential Louis Armstrong, and immediately wanting to buy a faux fur coat and a vintage radio.
3. Finding the most perfect place in the world: The Church Farm tearooms in Ardeley. I drank vanilla tea (I can still taste it at the back of my mouth and it makes me feel all cosy), discovered greengage icecream, and delighted at my Mama’s look of pride for having brought me to such a heavenly place.

I am going to be spending a lot of time at those tearooms over the coming months – I honestly can’t think of a more perfect place to spend an afternoon curled up writing my first book.

Image taken from John O’Nolan‘s photostream.

Leave a Reply

