6. FEATURE: Six Videos Wot I Found to Make You Smile, Innit

It’s been a long day, hence the lateness of this post. I am rapidly losing my voice, I am longing for my bed, and I have run out of anything remotely amusing to say.

And yet I am determined to complete this blog post because not only did I very arrogantly claim today that I was certain I would keep up this one a day thing for the whole year, (honestly, sometimes I’m my own worst enemy), but someone whose opinion I respect told me this afternoon I wrote wittily. Day officially made.

You see, even when the odds are against you, it is easier than you think to find something to cheer you up, or that will make you chuckle ’til you’re all hurty. These moments have been provided today by the people of Twitter and Facebook, in the form of some very silly, very sweet or very brilliant Youtube videos. Here they are in ascending order of coolness (to build suspense and shiz):

1. Owl Loves a Good Scratch

@stevewmorris provided me with this pointless but fantastic piece of footage of an owl getting all clicky-purry when someone scratches it. In terms of actual value, it’s slightly below the sneezing panda video but slightly above anything Peter Andre has ever said.

2. Canvas Bags by Tim Minchin

@Lord_Blakemore came up with this one on Facebook too. I always find myself slightly underwhelmed by Tim Minchin songs at first, and then I stick with it and there’s always a moment of pure genius. In this example, it comes in the form of the moment the video jumps to the pile of shiny plastic bags and the over-enthusiastic singers repeating the same line over and over and over. I don’t really know how it’s genius, it just is. Oh, and I definitely want to use canvas bags now, if for no other reason than this video has taught me they are cool.

3. A Bit of Fry and Laurie – Sex Talk In Class

@bpdobson came up with this one. An oldie but a goodie, and scarily true even of modern schooling. When Stephen Fry says ‘Well I don’t actually call myself a school, no!’ I actually nearly died. Everything is right about this video.

These last three videos are all from @starchildluke. Let me tell you, if you don’t follow this guy you are BONKERS.

4. Kanye West “Monster” Muppet Remix

New pants on standby, gentlemen, because this is so funny you may actually wee. The thing that makes this so goose-bumpingly awesome is that not only is it a genius idea, it’s made to perfection. Oh, and *insert compulsory “Imma let you finish!” joke* because of the Kanye link, obviously.

5. Michael Jackson turkish boy

I love stuff like this. This kid blows my mind. Not only does he dance this with remarkable closeness to Michael’s own original version, he does it when he’s about TWELVE. When I was twelve, I was mostly wearing tie-dye and saying how much I liked the overweight one on Popstars: The Rivals because her rendition of ‘Reach’ by S Club 7 made her “suuuch a grooovy chick” or whatever ridiculous slang we used in those days. The best dance I could do was the chorus of ‘Stop’ by the Spice Girls. Don’t pretend you don’t know it.

6. Ted Williams – Homeless Man with a Golden Voice

Seriously, if you haven’t seen this video yet then 2011 just isn’t quite worth it. Not only is this man’s voice beautiful, but the interview he does here nearly made me do a little cry. His overnight success is truly heartwarming. He’s such a nice man, as well as being so very ordinary. Every time he says ‘yes, Ma’am’ to the interviewer, a little part of my soul goes out to him. Truly worthy of being an internet sensation.

One thought on “6. FEATURE: Six Videos Wot I Found to Make You Smile, Innit

Leave a Reply

