31. SMILE: Look How Far We’ve Come

Good evening,

When it comes to inspecting your past, I normally sort of agree with Henry David Thoreau who said ‘Never look back unless you are planning to go that way.

I’m more of a looking forward kind of girl, always trying to see what’s around the corner and normally rushing to get there a lot faster than I should be.

Sometimes, though, I think it’s quite nice to take a peek behind you, if only to see how far you’ve come. It’s quite invigorating: looking at photos when I was 3 stone heavier, or reading poems I wrote six years ago and realising how much more mature I’ve become and how much more confident I now feel when it comes to writing. Sometimes we need that little flashback to push us on a forward burst, like your past self is calling out words of encouragement. Sometimes we forget how much further forward we are on our journey because from day to day it doesn’t always seem like we’re getting anywhere.

Remember 1994 guys? Yeah. I was mostly listening to Take That and learning how to ride a bike. But it’s actually not that long ago – only seventeen years.

Take a look at this:

And then read this article.

I find it literally amazing how far we’ve come in such a few short years. I wonder where we’ll be in seventeen years time? The more I think about it, the more I can’t wait to see where life takes me. Or where I take myself in life.

Looking forward to tomorrow!

One thought on “31. SMILE: Look How Far We’ve Come

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention 31. SMILE: Look How Far We’ve Come « No Day But Today -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

