This is not a hoax

Dancing Through Life – Wicked Soundtrack

“Stop studying strife, and learn to live ‘the unexamined life’…”

For too long I’ve resisted posting here because I didn’t want to go into all the reasons why I’m a total shit for not posting in forever. So no excuses. Suffice to say life has been a many coloured beast over the last month or two: sometimes a cool and groovy beast like the BFG, and other times a less friendly beast like that weird television thing called Edna off Willow The Wisp.

If you’ve been following me on Twitter (and by the way, you bloody well should be. We have fun there.) then you’ll probably know most of the cooler stuff.

Anyway, I’m back. And I’m sorry for needing to go away. But I’d like to stay, if you’ll have me.

Here’s a round-up of the cool stuff I did while I was away:

1. Did a whole lotta baking.

2. Went to Bordeaux for a few days

3. Fell over from drinking too much wine a lot with some very awesome people

4. Went to some really cool places and drank cocktails out of teacups

5. Did lots of writing

6. Decided I’m going to buy a ukulele, after one too many vinos and some hilarious musical experiences with my housemate

7. Read some of the most outstanding books in my life.

8. Taught my 16 month old niece to play an inflatable saxophone.

All in all, time well spent. And I don’t want to overload anyone daft enough to still read this with too much info, so I’ll keep this one short and go into more detail on all of the above in the coming days and weeks. Well, maybe except the last one about the saxophone. But it was pretty awesome, and a whole lot better than the time I taught her how to smoke a fake pipe.

Right now, I’m going to focus on the here and now. Life as it stands right at this second. I’m enjoying it more than I’ve ever done before. I love where I live, the people in my life, the possibilities that lie ahead and the stories and memories that I leave in my wake. I’ve mentioned on here before that it’s the little things that make me tick – minuscule discoveries, in-jokes, trinkets and sensations – and there have been so very many of those in the last few months that I almost feel overloaded with reasons to be practically dancing through life. Maybe I’ll share some with you soon.

Rest assured… la vita è  bella.

I’ll leave you with this, because it rocked my world. I can’t remember who showed it to me on Twitter, but whoever you are I heart you big time.

2 thoughts on “This is not a hoax

  1. I am a very proud mother. Your writing is so emional and easy to read. You are sooooooooo talented. You were born to communicate through pen to every corner of the world. You will touch so many hearts with your warmth and love.

  2. Pingback: Quick Link: Books Are Great « Benny's Bumper Blog

Leave a Reply

