Hello there, and thank you… (plus: Beyonce ROCKS MY SOCKS)

Hey everyone,

I keep meaning to update this blog,  I have been trying every day since Sunday, but a fifty hour working week and interwebz failure have prevented me.

I’m also a bit overwhelmed, to be honest with you. I’ve lost count of the number of private messages, texts, facebook and twitter messages and comments that I’ve had about my last blog, from friends and strangers alike. Your kindness and support have made me all soppy, and I don’t really know what to do with myself.

I’ve been offered medical support, but for now I’m trying to tackle this on my own. I feel so very looked after that I don’t see how I can fail. I’m sorry to anyone  I’ve worried, but you have no idea how much better I feel after finally being honest with everyone, including myself.

Lighter news: I have been channeling my inner diva this week and feeling all empowered and shit. If you haven’t seen Beyonce’s Glasto set yet, then you should: you never feel like a real, strong woman quite like how you do after seeing her do her stuff.

In particular, her song ‘Run The World (Girls)’ never fails to make me feel super powerful.  Someone I know tweeted that they thought this song wasn’t accurate, and just because you say it doesn’t make it true. I agree, and I don’t think she’s implying that Obama and Cameron and the rest all have secret vaginas (except Nick Clegg. He probably does), but I think to most of us ‘the world’ we run is our own world, our own back yard.

To me, the song is more about women feeling empowered in their own environment, controlling their own lives and running their own world. It is certainly a song that makes me feel like that is something I can achieve when I hear it, even if all I’m controlling is the dancefloor…

Things that make girls feel good are awesome, especially when we’re having a bit of a ‘mare in other aspects of our lives. To this end, I also purchased this dress that I saw over on Domestic Sluttery this week. It arrived today, and I immediately changed into it at work and pranced around. As you can see:

For the record, this is my ‘OH LOOK AT THE FLOATY SLEEVES’ face, and this photo was taken without my knowledge. It just happened to be the one that made us laugh the most, so I thought I’d let you all mock me n’all.

That’s it for now, but I *will* be blogging properly this weekend. I hope to have some photos to show you of my fabulous trip to Bordeaux last month.

Onwards. 🙂

Leave a Reply

